Beethoven's Violin Concerto and “Pastoral Symphony”

Stradivarius Tritton violin in his hands, Kolja Blacher entrances the audiences with exceptionally refined tonality and meticulously sharp interpretation. For almost ten years he performed with Claudio Abbado as the first violin of Berlin Philharmonic and Lucerne Festival Orchestra; now at his prime the virtuoso violinist enjoys the dual role of soloist and chamber musician. Beethoven and contemporary music is especially dear to both, therefore this rendezvous with Sinfonietta Rīga includes a very intimate contemplation on life and eternity – Leaving by Russian composer Elena Firsova – as well as the dramatic Violin Concerto and bright, pastoral Symphony No. 6 by the Viennese classic.


Elena Firsova (1950) Leaving
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61, and Symphony No. 6 in F major, Op. 68 (“Pastoral”)


Kolja Blacher, violin and leader
Sinfonietta Rīga


To top