Latvian Sound Quartet. The fascination of America

The Latvian Sound Quartet consists of four young, talented and energetic musicians. In celebration of the ensemble’s five-year anniversary, its participants want to look back at the very beginnings of their work together that were rooted in their collaboration in performing Bohuslav Martinů’s Quartet for Oboe, Violin, Cello and Piano. The neoclassical opus was written in New York, and the rest of the pieces of the programme are connected to the United States as well. That includes Leonard Bernstein's Piano Trio for piano, violin, and cello, written in the composer’s youth, and the up-and-coming American star Kevin Beavers’s impressive peace Death Dances, as well as other pieces the inspiration of which has been the Land of Opportunity – the birth place of jazz, blues and musicals, which has been a source of artistic allure, challenge and discovery through the ages. 


Bohuslav Martinů (1890-1959), Quartet for Oboe, Violin, Cello and Piano, H.315
Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990), Piano trio
Liduino Pitombeira (1962), Seresta no. 13 for oboe, violin, cello, and piano op. 104
Kevin Beaver (1977) Death Dances for oboe, violin, cello and piano


Latvian Sound Quartet:
Līva Plociņa, violin
Jana Zeļenska, oboe
Māra Botmane, cello
Roksana Tarvide, piano

To top