A Grand Concert Of Latvian Symphonic Music

2005 was the year when Latvia marked the 125th anniversary of Latvian symphonic music, and this was a good reason to proclaim that year to to be the Year of Latvian Symphonic Music, with a concert on December 11 that was organised with the aim of mobilising musicians and their fans so as to create a new level of quality in terms of attitudes toward the local symphonic tradition, the present and the future. It was in 2005 that the idea of annual concerts of Latvian symphonic music appeared. The suggestion came from music historian Arnolds Klotiņš in honour of the 125th anniversary.

Ever since, grand concerts of Latvian symphonic music have been presented so as to patch up a fundamental gap in the overall cultural aspects of Latvian culture. Now it can be said that this tradition has been enshrined in the repertoire of Latvia's orchestras and in the enthusiasm of their audiences. On January 20, 2018, the 12th concert will be staged at the Great Guild, with all professional symphonic orchestras taking part, Latvian composers debuting new compositions, and music being performed that has been composed by Latvian composers commemorating a major anniversary of their birth.


Alfrēds Kalniņš (1879-1951) Introduction to opera "Baņuta"
Jānis Ivanovs (1906-1983) 2nd part from Cello concerto
Jānis Mediņš (1890-1966) Symphonic image "Imanta"
Jēkabs Jančevskis (1992) "Turbidus" (premiere)
Juris Karlsons (1948) 9th Liepāja concerto “Gliese 581" for orchestra  
Ādolfs Skulte (1909-2000) 5th Symphony 


Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra
Kristaps Bergs, cello
Modestas Pitrenas, conductor

Liepāja Symphony Orchestra
Rihards Plešanovs, piano
Atvars Lakstīgala, conductor

Latvian National Symphony Orchestra
Guntis Kuzma, conductor

To top