Delicate humour, elements of a game and creative shock as a preliminary condition for creativity and self-discovery -- the ART-i-SHOCK trio includes three outstanding musicians with very different personalities and temperaments. Pianist Agnese Egliņa, percussionist Elīna Endzele and cellist Guna Šnē seek artistic completion, surprising, delighting and sometimes gently provoking audiences. At the centre of this programme is one of the greatest masterpieces of symphonic music, Maurice Ravel's universally known Bolero, arranged particularly for the trio by Andrejs Puškarevs. Bolero is basically a fifteen-minute culmination process, and Ravel basically thought of it as a joke, not music. Others associate it with pagan processions, the path toward spiritual enlightenment, the approach of the apocalypse, or even uncontrollable sex and burning passion. Other opuses in this program are just as colourful and diverse in associative terms. The audience will hear sparkling southern temperament, feel heat from the Spanish sun, and relax in gentle wind with roots in foreign lands and from smart folklore that has been gathered together for centuries.


Maurice Ravel, Manuel de Falla, Isaac Albéniz


Trio Art-i-Shock:
Guna Šnē, cello
Agnese Egliņa, piano
Elīna Endzele, percussions


To top