The lead viola of the Amsterdam Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Santa Vižine, a double-bass player of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra Matīss Eisaks, and a laureate of the Latvian Grand Music Award, the dynamic pianist Agnese Egliņa - these outstanding musicians will meet in Riga to join forces on a chamber music programme with a unifying theme of Kurzeme. In the Aizpute-born Pēteris Vasks’ Sonata for Solo Double Bass quiet monologues are juxtaposed with expressive dialogues with the listener. There are similar contrasts in the Partita for viola and piano by Tālivaldis Ķeniņš whose life started in Liepāja. Gundaris Pone who would have celebrated his 90th birthday this year spent his childhood in Saldus and wrote seven piano postcards from Kurzeme in behalf of seven musical giants of the history; in the viola, however, he sought the voice of the Latvian mentality, contemplating the view of mourning and death in different places around the world. Kristaps Pētersons has written a completely new piece specifically for this concert, based on the notes from Kurzeme of Emilis Melngailis, a composer that is Pēterson’s senior by around 1.5 centuries.



Pēteris Vasks Sonata for Solo Double Bass
Tālivaldis Ķeniņš Partita breve for Viola and Piano
Gundaris Pone Grand duo funebre for Viola and Double Bass
Gundaris Pone Cartolina dalla Curlandia for Piano solo 
Kristaps Pētersons By Melngailis’s Notes for Viola, Double Bass and Piano (Premiere) 


Santa Vižine, viola
Agnese Egliņa, piano
Matīss Eisaks, double bass

To top