Sinfonietta Rīga. Bach, Tavener, Mackmillan

Reinis Zariņš's performance has a hypnotic quality about it. He is a masterful ruler of the black-and-white keys who captivates and leads the audiences into his particular world of sound not with a flashy virtuosity but with deep thoughtfulness and complexity, and astonishing balance between profoundly subjective and objective musical outlook. In this, there is something akin to the music of the composers whose works have been selected for this concert programme that all share a sincere interest in spirituality and a wish to express faith, hope, and love. The most distinguished Scottish composer of our times, James MacMillan, in his pensive Meditation on Iona tenderly paints a portrait of the small Hebridean island, while the English maestro John Tavener seeks to reflect about the divine beauty present in each one of us with his Sanskrit-inspired Pratirùpa and its famous piano part. Last, but not least, the grandmaster of German Baroque Johann Sebastian Bach professes his faith in God even in one of his best-known secular works - the Harpsichord Concerto in D minor.


Johann Sebastian Bach Concerto in d minor, BWV 1052
John Tavener Pratirùpa
James MacMillan A Meditation on Iona


Reinis Zariņš, piano
Sinfonietta Rīga
Conductor Normunds Šnē

To top